In Deep #024 (11th May 2011)

A good dollop of funkiness starts the show off this week, with some buttshakers from Recloose and 6th Borough Project. “Iznae” comes from the new “One Night In The Borough” EP on DOG records, and has a lovely rolling groove and rippling bassline – One of my favourites this week. There’s also some great new music from Cavalier, this time on the superb Drumpoet Community record label. “Napoletano” has a spooky, haunted feel about it, while holding on to a strong, jacking rhythm.

A few old classics pop up in this week’s show too. “Let this go” by Miguel Migs is quintessential Naked Music deep house, while “No matter what” by The Dominican is a sublime treasure from the Forensic Records archives. My pick of the week though is the new Trancemicsoul remix of “Running around” – A beautiful, introspective house track with the trademark Trancemicsoul “shake” and a delicate melody that reminds me of the great Larry Heard.

“The Voyage” continues the deep Trancemicsoul vibe, then the mood lifts a bit with the heady grooves of “Mamba” and “In Reverse”. “Gripper” by Shur-i-kan is a sunny, uplifting house track with sand between its toes.

Thanks to everyone who tuned in for the live broadcast on Future Music radio or came along to say hello in Second Life. We headed outdoors this week and got together for a boat party at Art’s beautiful sim “The Untroubled Sound” – A breathtaking location which is modelled on the Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand, and is also home to our regular venue The Shipwrights. The sim quickly filled up and we had a great crowd. Awesome to see you all there!

Olaf Quintessa – In Deep #024
Recorded live on Future Music radio, 11th May 2011

99 mins. 192 kbps MP3 (136 MB).

Click here to download

1. Based On Kyoto – Just After The Rain (Recloose, Frank Booker Remix)
2. 6th Borough Project – Iznae
3. Fabio Genito – Papawenda (FG Organic Dub)
4. Cavalier – Napoletano
5. Gesloten Crikel – Yamagic
6. Soulparlor – The Outer Rims (Recloose Remix)
7. Rithma – The Pepper Tree
8. The Dominican – No Matter What
9. Matt Masters – Deep Or What (Milton Jackson Remix)
10. Adam Marshall – Evil Jungle Prince
11. MidiDropMusic – Pulsed Organ
12. Asymmetric Soul, Meital De Razon – Running Around (Trancemicsoul Instrumental)
13. Trancemicsoul – The Voyage
14. Alex Dimou – Mamba (Nikos Diamantopoulos Wet Mix)
15. Glideslope – In Reverse
16. Shur-I-Kan – Gripper
17. Miguel Migs – Let This Go
18. Gregorythme – Isola
19. Sven Tasnadi – Winter
20. Murr – Stay
21. The Rurals – The Beast

Picture credit: The Untroubled Sound, Second Life


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s