In Deep #021 (23rd Mar 2011)

Quite an upbeat feel to this week’s show, in the hope of stirring the soul a little – There seems to be so much sad and harrowing news around at the moment that I felt it was time for something uplifting and hopeful.

I can hardly imagine what the people of Christchurch and Sendai have been going through lately, people who may have lost their family or their homes in the recent earthquakes. And my utmost respect goes out to those who have been at the front line of the disaster response. My city, Wellington, is one of those places that is also expecting “the big one” some day, which makes the personal tragedies that have been unfolding in the papers hit home with some force. This week’s show is a heartfelt offering of unity, sympathy and encouragement to everyone affected.

Two of my favourite tracks this week come courtesy of Cosmic Belt. Their remix of “Horizon” by Lem is a sunny, light-hearted house track with a slightly 80s feel, while “Time Flies” is a punchy, get-on-the-dancefloor winner. Daniel Ray’s “Unveiled Secrets” is one of the deeper tracks in the mix this week, but it’s a real beauty with a melodic bassline and a calm, reassuring atmosphere.

Another of my faves this week is the Dave Angel remix of “Cottage Industry” by Vadim Yershov – A bouncy, aerobic track which is a nice reminder of what I loved about Dave Angel’s stuff when I first discovered it in the 90s (fast, funky techno like “Arrival” from the classic In Flight Entertainment EP).

I hope that anyone who enjoys the show this week (and even those who don’t enjoy it!) will consider supporting the Red Cross and the appeals they have going for Christchurch and Japan – Music is a powerful antidote to the ills of the world, but passing on a few dollars to help the relief efforts currently underway is something real and useful we can all do to help. Please check out the Red Cross website!

Thanks to everyone who came along to The Shipwrights in Second Life or tuned in on Future Music radio for the live broadcast – Great to see you all!

Olaf Quintessa – In Deep #021
Recorded live on Future Music radio, 23rd March 2011

98 mins. 192 kbps MP3 (135 MB).

Click here to download

1. Art Bleek – Spin Ache
2. Francois DuBois – Blood (Scope Remix)
3. Danny Howells – Landing On Planets
4. Lem – Horizon (Cosmic Belt Instrumental)
5. Office Gossip – Formant
6. 16B – Being The Face
7. Hideo Kobayashi – Cosmogony
8. Andrew Rags Richardson – Psychology
9. Rootstrax – Harlequin
10. Trancemicsoul – 48 Church Square
11. Daniel Ray – Unveiled Secrets
12. Scope – Mission Control
13. Shur-I-Kan – Future
14. Cosmic Belt – Time Flies (Instrumental Mix)
15. Flow – Catwitch (Vince Watson Remix)
16. Hati Munetsi – Ceremony (techno mix)
17. Andrew Rags Richardson – Hi Hit Harry
18. Manuel De La Mare, Matteo Matt – Celebrate (MidiDropMusic Remix)
19. Vadim Yershov – Cottage Industry (Dave Angel Remix)
20. Johnny Fiasco – Zapped
21. Andrew Rags Richardson – Just a groove

(Picture credit: Aftermath club, Insilico, Second Life)


2 thoughts on “In Deep #021 (23rd Mar 2011)

  1. Hey , Thanks so much for the support . I did’nt think my music got around to Dj’s to include in their mix sets ,,, THANK YOU !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s