In Deep #015 (12th Jan 2011)

This week’s podcast gets off to a discoey start with some superb groovers from 6th Borough Project and Tommy Disco. “Age of the Jaguar” hits the spot with a heady cocktail of slow disco licks and euphoric vocals, and is available as an awesome freebie on the Kahua Music sampler volume 2.

Tracks from Lord of the Isles, Acos CoolKAs, and Contra Communem Opinionem bring a warm, synthy vibe to the mix, and there’s another superb track from Adelaide’s Leo Gunn with a deep, beatdown feel.

Anyone who was familiar with the Paper Recordings label in the 1990s will remember “Don’t Fuck With My Shit”, the most sublime and wonderful deep house track ever made. Released in 1997, this was the record that really got me hooked on deep house and it will always be my number one – My desert island disc.

My pick of the week though is “Don’t you want to be mine”, a vocal house track originally released in 1987 which I came across recently as a Clone Classics reissue. I’m not usually a fan of such overt vocals, but this track won me over completely with the tight drum programming, Chicago style bassline, and the deep, soulful grain of Joe Church’s voice. Intense and full of desire.

Steve Summers makes another appearance this week with some mellow Chicago house vibes, while The Messenger and Moodymanc provide a more up to date interpretation of the deep house sound. The set finishes off with some bright, upbeat techno from Evan Evans and Kuba Sojka, with Detroit high on the list of influences.

Kuba Sojka is a musician from Poland with releases on Mathematics and Matrix Records, who has crafted his own style of Detroit techno and house. “Expedition” is one of those irresistable, emotional techno tracks that make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end, with urgent strings, warm synth pads and rollicking percussion, and is reminiscent of Los Hermanos finest. Definitely a master craftsman, there’s a rare warmth and depth about his productions.

Thanks to everyone who came along to The Shipwrights on listened in on Future Music radio – Great to see you all! Enjoy the podcast, we’ll be back this Wednesday!

Olaf Quintessa – In Deep #015
Recorded live on Future Music radio, 12th Jan 2011

120 mins. 192 kbps MP3 (165 MB).

Click here to download

1. Velvet Sky – A Touch of Jazz
2. 6th Borough Project – Stratus Quo
3. 6th Borough Project – Closer
4. Toomy Disco – Age Of The Jaguar
5. Contra Communem Opinionem – An Emotional Moment With The Sun
6. Motor City Drum Ensemble – Moving Through Clouds
7. Lord Of The Isles – We Were There Dancin Freestyle
8. Acos CoolKAs – Free Flight (Max Essa Mix)
9. Seva K – The Jungle Of Music (Sebastian Davidson Remix)
10. Contra Communem Opinionem – The Brightest Time Of The Day
11. Leo Gunn – New Day
12. Dirty Jesus – Don’t Fuck With My Shit (Late Night Cruising Mix)
13. Eric Kupper, K Scope – Peace
14. Fred Everything – Without
15. Sasse – Break Up
16. Tevo Howard – Northside (Part One)
17. Joe Church – Don’t you Want to be Mine (Club Mix)
18. Nina Kraviz – I’m Week
19. Steve Summers – What do you Think you Feel
20. Spirit Catcher, Compuphonic – Cleaver
21. The Messenger – Exposures (Raygun Remix)
22. Moodymanc – Seedz
23. Evan Evans – Repitition (John Daly Remix)
24. Kuba Sojka – The Connection
25. Kuba Sojka – Expedition

Picture credit: Stardust Oasis in Second Life


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s